Be Patient, My Dear…

I’m still quite new to crafting but I’ve come to realise that really good projects take a bit of planning.  I can browse Ravelry for hours, saving favourites and researching yarn choices.  I pop to the Knit Club, have a cup of tea, a chat and a stroke of the yarn.  I do the maths for how many balls I’d need and what the cost would be.  Finally, a choice is made and I’m ready to buy.

BUT!  Choose a popular colour and there might not be enough left in the shop.  Maybe someone got there before you and bought the last ball.  Maybe the perfect yarn isn’t stocked at your favourite yarn shop and needs to be ordered through other means.  You have to be patient until it comes.

Patience.  Not a great skill of mine.  I want it NOW!  I want to get started on the projects I have taken ages to settle on.  NOW!

I currently have two orders in – one with The Knit Club and one from an internet stockist.  One will bring a phone call and one will arrive with the postman.  I’m waiting patiently.  No, honestly, I am.  I’m not at all fidgety fingered in anticipation of my new projects. Not me.  Uh-huh.

The benefit of waiting is that it has pushed me into finishing a project that I’d stalled on.  Letters have been cut and sewn and pennants have been joined.  Silver linings and all that.

So, I’ll have more to share with you another time.  In the meantime, I’ll just be here by the letterbox (with the phone in my hand).  Waiting.

Image

by Claire

Leave a Reply

