Why Crochet is Better than Sudoku…

Image

I’ve never been very goodat sitting still.

Once the children are in bed, dinner’s been had and tidied up after and the TV is on, I get twitchy hands.  I’ve surfed the internet, completed jigsaws and solved a serious quantity of Sudoku puzzles in a bid to keep my hands and mind busy.  In May last year, I decided I need something new. I like learning but what to choose?  Going out in the evenings is difficult so it need to be something to do at home.  A few friends on an internet forum crocheted.  Young people.  People like me.  I liked what they produced but have never considered myself a “crafty” person and didn’t think I’d be much good at it.  Nonetheless, I decided to give it a whirl.

I reserved a book at the library, bought a 3.5mm hook and some double knitting yarn and set to it with my book, advice from crocheting friends and some YouTube tutorials.  It was hard to get started: the yarn needed holding a certain way; the hook had to go in this gap, not that one and the finished swatch was, well, wonky.  But soon I got the hang of it and I was hooked (pun intended!).

What have I got to show for my new crochet habit?  Blankets, hats (lots), toddler jumpers, scarves, snowflakes, apples, pears, a pumpkin, a mug cosy, crab and octopus finger puppets and a fried egg.  Oh, and a cupboard full of yarn and some pretty, shiny hooks!  What have I got to show for my old Sudoku habit?  Completed grids of numbers and an average time of just over 7 minutes on the expert level of my phone app.

People are nice about my crochet.  They show an interest in what I’m doing and what I’ve done.  They touch and examine what I’ve made and say nice things about it.  It makes me smile.  People care and it’s great.

I still do Sudoku from time to time but no one’s bothered when you’ve completed a Sudoku puzzle – not even the REALLY hard one on the very back page!

By Claire

2 thoughts on “Why Crochet is Better than Sudoku…

  1. U .. r whats important in ur life!!
    I knit all kinds of things … I hear peoples tacky comments about crochetting n knitting …n I dont care as long as they dont un-ravel my project … ha ha

  2. i too love to crochet and do so every night, usually before going to bed – its better than a book/kindle any day.
    I have also run a couple of workshops which i enjoyed and wish I could do more..i have lots of patience, guess comes from working with children every day!!!
    I too get lots of ooo’s and ah’s about what I have made…..i think i am actually addicted to crochet!!!

    dee

Leave a Reply

